7 Chakras of life and their significance in Yogic culture


Chakras are various focal points used in numerous ancient meditation practices. The concept was found in the early traditions of Hinduism. There is a difference in belief in the number of Chakras as Chakras were mentioned in various Buddhist writings as well. According to Hinduism, there are 6 or 7 Chakras but various Buddhist writings mentioned 5 Chakras.

Early Sanskrit texts speak of them both as meditative visualizations combining flowers and mantras and as physical entities in the body. Some modern interpreters speak of them as complexes of electromagnetic variety, the precise degree, and variety of which directly arise from a synthetic average of all positive and negative so-called "fields", thus eventuating the complex Nadi.

Within Kundalini Yoga, the techniques of Breath exercises, Visualizations, Mudras, Bandhas, Kriyas, and Mantras are focused on manipulating the flow of subtle energy through Chakras.

Now, let us explore, enumerate, and explain the science of Chakras.

It is generally said and believed  "Kundalini, Chakras, and Nadis have no physical connection"

Now, let us comprehend the science of Tantra Vidya.

According to Sat-Chakra-Nirupans, there are seven major centers of consciousness or Chakras within the human body. Major Chakras are Muladhara Chakra, Svadhisthana Chakra, Nabhi Chakra, Anahata Chakra, Visudhi Chakra, Ajna Chakra, and Sahasrara Chakra but according to Akhand Sutra, there are following ten major centers of consciousness.

Now let's discuss 7 Major Chakras and their physical significance in our bodies.

Muladhara Chakra: 

Color- Red

The first Basic Root Chakra is the lowest center of consciousness.

It is located in the pelvis and is associated with Annamaya-Kosha, the sheath made of food.

It is responsible for integrated health and well being.

Svadhisthana Chakra:  

Color- Orange

It is located in the sacral part of the abdomen is associated with emotional health.

It is also associated with Pranamaya-Kosha, the sheath made of emotions.

This center is associated with the sacral parasympathetic nervous system and the reproductive hormones and Ojas Shakti.

Nabhi Chakra or Manipura Chakras: 

Color- Yellow

The third center of consciousness is associated with the lower part of the abdomen and lumbar vertebrae.

It is associated with Manomaya-Kosha, the sheath of the concrete mind, and the Adrenal gland.

It is responsible for the concrete mind.

Anahata Chakra: 

Color- Green

The fourth center of consciousness is associated with the upper thoracic vertebrae, heart, and lungs.

It is primarily associated with the sympathetic nervous system and the Thymus gland.

It is also responsible for the fluctuating nature of the concrete mind.

Visudhi Chakra: 

Color- Blue

The fifth center of consciousness is associated with cervical vertebrae, thyroid, and parathyroid glands.

Ajna Chakra: 

Color- Indigo

The sixth center of consciousness is located between the eyebrows.

It is associated with the brainstem and pituitary gland.

It is also associated with Vigyanmaya-Kosha, the sheath of the abstract mind.

Sahasrara Chakra: 

Color- Ultra Violet

The center is primarily associated with the three outer layers of the neocortex of the human brain.

It is also associated with Anandamaya-Kosha, the sheath of a blissful mind.

It is associated with the Chakral Yoga and Antar Yoga stages of Akhand Yoga.



Popular posts from this blog

CHOICES one must always make them wisely

Life journey With Yoga(Breathing Yoga)

How to understand your Journey Within?